Monday Morning Pep Talk

I should have updated over the weekend but this week marks a pretty awesome anniversary & I’ll have more about that tomorrow.

Either way – My Monday Morning Pep Talk is all about the follow bible verses-

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.
James 1:2-4

We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised. Hebrews 6:12

Not unlike any other human, every day I experience trials & test of my faith. And I’m lucky in a way that I am able to see & understand how my apathetic mood & the battles I have with depression are not only healed in the faith of God but also self inflicted. What I’m not very good at knowing is when the tests & trials are being communicated by something I can’t control. But I had a revelation this weekend when my past popped up in my emails. This was a test, previously I had been lazy in my faith. God had given me this new chapter in life & I was stuck rereading an old chapter. And for a while, I couldn’t understand why this kept happening- when all I wanted was peace & to be able to move on. Then I realized, it was a test of faith. By engaging in what I know was a toxic part of my past, I was calling God a liar. I was proving my distrust in his guidance & I was letting the devil distract me from my growth.

I was kindly reminded in church a few Sundays ago that God’s answers to your prayers may be right around the corner & if you stop praying, stop seeking those answers you may never receive them. Every time I engaged with my past, I was taking steps backwards, away from Christ & I was losing the vision of my faith. Sometimes, when our prayers are not answered right away it’s because God is still coming up with an answer, he is aligning everything in the universe so the answer will come to you & you will hear it. And last week, I finally heard it. And with that, my past will not hear from me.

When I first started going to church & truthfully listening it was because I wanted a new start. But what I’ve come to realize is my deliverance is made of a many new starts, many refreshing steps toward Christ, a few twists & turns to get back in the guidance & direction towards God. And this was one of the many. This is my deliverance.

Isaiah 43:18Β Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.

 

Leave a Reply

